Level 3 Improvement Technician

Register your interest today using the form below

6 + 12 =

Please be aware that course information details can change – always check our website for current programmes


Barnet Southgate College delivery in partnership with Cidori

Typical Job Roles:

Business Improvement Co-ordinator, Continuous Improvement Executive, Process Technician, Operational Excellence/Lean Engineer, Lean Six Sigma Yellow belt and Quality Control Analyst.

Programme length:

14 months plus a 2 month End Point Assessment (EPA) window.

Functional Skills:

Level 2 in English & maths is to be completed, if required.

Progress Reviews:

Progress reviews occur every 10-12 weeks and are a mandatory requirement. There must be a manager or mentor present at each review.


  • Improvement Technician Level 3 Standard

Delivery & Assessment:

Learning & assessment will take place with a dedicated onsite Barnet Southgate college tutor, and will consist of:

  • Teaching sessions, practical activities & shop floor observations
  • Activity books
  • Presentations and practical assessments

Off-the-Job Training (OTJ):

This training must equate to a minimum of 6 hours per week for the duration of the apprenticeship programme. It can be delivered flexibly e.g., for a part of each day, once each week or as a block release.


Some of the Core Knowledge, Skills & Behaviours:

  • Legislative and customer compliance
  • Team formation & leadership
  • Project management
  • Change management
  • Six Sigma principles
  • Project selection & scoping
  • Process capability & performance
  • Data analysis
  • Team working
  • Professionalism
  • Continuous development


Progression can be made to Improvement Practitioner Level 4; Process Leader Level 4 or Quality Practitioner Level 4, dependent on career choice/pathway set by you and the company.

End Point Assessment (EPA):

Learners will undertake an End Point Assessment at the end of their practical training period. The EPA will consist of the following elements, each of which will be graded individually. Learners will then be awarded an overall grade of a fail, pass or distinction.

  • Multiple choice examination
  • Project report, presentation & questioning
  • Professional discussion underpinned by log